The ice cream flop

‘I wish I had one of those.’

Well it was only a matter of time before the demands started. Now three years old, going on sixteen, my toddler is a Disney Junior Channel marketer’s dream. As the end of the ‘Let’s Cook Ice Cream Parlour’ advert flicked off the screen, I knew it was just a matter of time .

I lasted a few days to be fair. Normally I’d have more sense – I still remember my frequent childhood disappointments over similar ‘toys’. But my little one’s excited face, and my inner need to complete another challenge, led to the inevitable trip to Toys R Us.

I’m not too sure what I was thinking when  I decided it would be a good idea to set myself challenge 8 – make ice cream from scratch. But a woman true to her word, and an ice-cream obsessed toddler in tow – what the hell!

ice cream

So we are now the proud owner of a children’s ice-cream maker. Did you see the picture at the top of this post? Well, it’s fair to say – we didn’t make it.

It sounded so easy on the box. Doesn’t it always? A ton of double cream, whole milk and sugar later (mega healthy!), I had a runny mess and a disappointed boy! Round two was slightly more successful – a runny mess, with the odd frozen lump of slush in it.

So another ‘toy’ has been relegated to the depths of the garage! I did ‘toy’  with being cheeky and striking the challenge off the list, but as the attempts were less than successful I thought that would be a bit naughty of me.

I think next time I’ll resort to good old-fashioned manual means. Hopefully I might get something a bit more solid and frozen in return for my hard work. I can live in hope! 🙂

2 thoughts on “The ice cream flop”

  1. I’ve been considering getting one, figured it would save me $$ though the idea of needing rock salt and buckets of ice made me look at it a Lil cross eyed :O

Leave a comment