Off track

I need a stern talking to.

Somewhere along the lines I got a bit waylaid. The beginning of this year started in a tidal wave of motivation, but the fates have been against me of late.

A friend recently asked me how I fit it all in. My response, ‘I have no idea.’ But what I do know, is it is all held together by a fine string, which holds the balancing act precariously on the edge of a ledge. One wrong move, one extra burden thrown into the equation, the string snaps and the whole lot comes tumbling down. It’s a bit like an episode of Road Runner, and I land first with all the other shit falling on top of me. So I am now covered in crap and no longer balanced!

In this case, the great fall was set in place by a rather inconvenient running injury. It was enough to stop my running for a couple of months, which means less endorphines to keep me perky, less calories burned off to help with the weight loss and a slippery slide to self-destruction on the whole health and fitness front. I well and truly fell off the band wagon in the process and every attempt to clamber back on has been faced by a convenient bout of illness – a cold here, a chest infection there …. the list goes on, as do the excuses.

This morning I had to remind myself what this blog is all about. A constant reminder to stay on track to reach my goals. I haven’t completely lost the plot as far as all my challenges go – I’m currently ‘learning a new word every day for a month’ and we recently got a new addition to the family – our Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Choccie. But a large part of the challenges are related to fitness – and those ones have been sorely neglected of late. Not without good reason, but the longer I wallow in my self-neglect the harder it will be to regain my motivation. So the time has come to get back on track …. and I have an action plan ….

  1. The rest of this week …. spend 10 minutes stretching every day (my muscles are still very tight)
  2. Next week …. start some light yoga to aid stretching out my muscles AND START MY 5:2 DIET AGAIN
  3. The week after … add some light pilates exercises into the mix
  4. The following week …. go on holiday (and try not to fall off the wagon again!)
  5. First week of May …. ease myself back into running again

… after all I only have 2 months until Summer Wolf Run (eeek!).

Leave a Reply

