Letter from Senegal

FatoumataSome of you will know that I recently sponsored Fatoumata via World Vision. I was really excited to receive my first letter from her today and I wanted to share it with you. I am looking forward to this being the start of further correspondence with this little girl and hopefully I will be able to share a small part of her world as she grows up and develops.

 

“Dear sponsor Caroline,

Warm greetings to you from Senegal.

Thank you very much for choosing me as your sponsored child in Senegal. My name is Fatoumata. I do not go to school. I live in Patiana’s ADP with my parents. Ibrahima is my dad and Adama is my mother. Both of them are cultivators. During the rainy season they grow millet, maize, sorghum, peanuts and cotton. ‘maize e mafe gerte’ is my favourite meal and I like sweets and fruit.

I have one brother whose name is Tahirou. I don’t have any sisters.

Lawo is my best friend. We all like traditional games. When I grow up I want to become a baker.

Can you come to see me and my family?

I wish you a happy new year 2014.

BOIRO, Dumar who is the community volunteer helps me to write you this letter.”

 

For those of you like me, who have no idea what Sorghum is it is a type of cereal grain, which also has gluten-free properties.

‘Maize e mafe gerte’  – from what I can work out, is a West African meat stew in a peanut sauce, served with maize (which is a type of corn). Sounds pretty good! 🙂

Leave a Reply

