What a way to celebrate my 100th Post – Versatile Blogger Award

It’s Sunday afternoon and I’ve just published my 99th post. As I sit here scratching my head for a truly special idea for my 100th post, tossing a few ideas around, a message comes through from Adelie at Artfully Aspiring letting me know she has nominated me for the Versatile Blogger Award. It’s my first nomination for this award – so not only am I super excited, but the timing is perfect. The dilemma of my 100th post had just been solved! A perfect celebratory, upbeat post that sums it all up. Thank you Adelie, not only for this amazing nomination, but for all the words of support you have given me over the past few months.

So, first up in acceptance of this award it is necessary for me to share seven interesting facts about myself. I have to admit I am feeling slightly superficial after reading the heartfelt sharing of my nominators deepest and darkest secrets. However, although I may not be ready to let all my skeletons out of the closet, I will endeavour to share some facts that are lesser known to keep it ‘interesting’!

 

  1. I have a Law Degree: those of you who know me from my early years will of course know this, but it might not be obvious to the newer additions to my life. I never actually practiced law and ended up taking a very different career path. However, I studied a Bachelors Degree in Law (LLB) at Kingston University and was awarded an upper second (2:1) degree (with honours). I even then went on to achieve a distinction in my Postgraduate Legal Diploma at Guildford College of Law.
  2. I have sky-dived: not just once, but seven times. After doing a tandem jump when travelling Australia about 15 years ago, I undertook a short course in sky-diving to obtain my A licence, which unfortunately I never quite completed.
  3. I used to have a market stall: a couple of years back I set up a personal gift business. I traded online, at events and had a regular market stall. There was a part of me which had always fancied being a market trader and it turned out to be something I actually really enjoyed doing. Unfortunately it didn’t end up being the most economically viable business in the world, so I had to take the decision to stop trading in the end.
  4. I am actually quite creative, but have only started exploring it recently: when I was younger I never thought of myself as a creative person, but somewhere behind the surface there has been this creative streak bursting to get out. I have tried my hand at a few ‘creative hobbies’ including painting (and I even sold some of them!), gift making (making and selling sweet trees and nappy cakes etc) and now writing, which is something that has taken me a while to get the nerve to give a go.
  5. I met my OH on the internet: we have been together over 13 years now and we met through an online dating site. At the time people’s reactions about online dating used to be quite mixed and they had a very different outlook to nowadays. It turned out to be a bit of a fluke that I stumbled upon the OHs profile, but something made me message him and well the rest is history!
  6. Singing scares me: I REALLY can’t sing. I am completely tone-deaf and if you want to clear a room quickly, getting me to sing would be a sure-fire way to do it. I am a fairly confident person most of the time, but public singing is something that absolutely terrifies me. You will never, ever, ever see me in a karaoke bar … the mere thought of them makes me break out in a nervous sweat.
  7. I make my way through hobbies like I change my knickers: I am very fickle when it comes to my interests. As a child I was dreadful and would hop from one hobby to another every five minutes. I think I drove my poor parents mad. I still have a tendency to get overly obsessive about new hobbies, often leading to my interest burning out quite quickly. I am getting better as I age – I just think it has taken me a few years to work out what it is I actually enjoy doing.

Now, this is the hard part – I need to nominate ten other blogs for this privileged award. As there are so many talented and creative people out there, it was hard to pick just ten. But I have managed to whittle it down and my nominations are:

  1. HarsH ReaLity: this opinionated man speaks his mind and doesn’t care who he upsets along the way. He reminds me of my OH, who also has a tendency to say what he thinks! I often worry too much about upsetting other people and I admire those who have the balls to say what they think regardless of reproach. His witty and humorous posts never fail to make me smile on some level and I will never know how he has the time to write so many damn posts every day – this guy’s a machine!
  2. Hacker, Ninja, Hooker, Spy: I just love the name of this blog and Aussa Lorens kicks out some pretty captivating posts too. This flamboyant red head wittily entertains with her stories of bad dates, working on a psych ward, her travels and other ‘crazy shiz’.
  3. Being the Memoirs of Helena Hann-Basquiat Dilettante: I stumbled upon this larger than life lady when she was guest posting over at Hacker, Ninja, Hooker, Spy and was reeled in hook, line and sinker by her heartwarming tale of the inspiration for her name. Helena exuberates pure style ‘darlings’ and her fiction is truly absorbing, dark and sultry.
  4. Edit Moi: Christi over at Edit Moi is a mum desperately seeking someone to ‘edit her’. Her fictional stories are fabulously off the cuff and I really enjoy her pieces, which are a welcome break from the norm and frequently unsettle me (the sign of being truly absorbed by the story!).
  5. Ben’s Bitter Blog: okay, I have a thing for bitter, twisted men! ๐Ÿ™‚ Ben makes me laugh with his rants and bitter reflections on everyday life.
  6. Publikworks: A ‘funhouse mirror outlook on life’. This is a refreshing and entertaining blog and I really enjoy all the posts, which have a slightly different slant to the usual.
  7. Bjorn Rudbergs Writings: I’m not usually the biggest poetry fan, but Bjorn’s dark, deep and slightly disturbing creations never fail to move me. He is a very powerful writer all round and his fiction is thrilling too.
  8. Mikes Look at Life: I love Mike’s atmospheric photography, but his blog is so much more than just this. A place where he shares his writing, poetry and memoirs as well, this is a man of many talents.
  9. W.T.F: Words, Thoughts and Feelings! This mom’s reflections come from the heart. Her ramblings about family, life and her children range from humorous to deeply thought-provoking. She also writes some great fiction too.
  10. Ice Scream Mama: Last , but not least is this mom whose outlook on life connects with mine. I love this ladies prose, her writing never fails to reel me in and hold my attention 100%. She’s a regular on the Yeah Write grid and is one of my favourite bloggers over there.
Thanks for taking the time to stop by and read my post. I hope that it has given you the chance to find some more amazing blogs to check out, as well as finding out a bit more about the woman behind this blog!
 
I would just like to take a moment to say how much I appreciate this award and the support I have had over the past few months from my readers and other bloggers. This blog has been the beginning of some fantastic opportunities and I am meeting some truly inspirational people along the way. Thank you for taking the time to read my warblings and I hope that I can continue to entertain you enough to get you coming back for more.
 
xxx

 

 

9 thoughts on “What a way to celebrate my 100th Post – Versatile Blogger Award”

  1. Congratulations on your 100th post! I greatly enjoyed learning more about you. While I already thought of you as exceptionally strong and brave, I had no idea you’d skydived seven times!!!!! Thank you so much for the kind mention, and I’m so glad to know you on an even deeper level! Way to go! ๐Ÿ˜€

    1. Thanks Adelie. Its always nice to find out more about the person behind the ramblings! ๐Ÿ˜‰ thanks again for the nomination. I enjoyed writing the acceptance post … But it was hard work picking only 10 nominations! ๐Ÿ˜‰ x

      1. I couldn’t agree with you more! It’s truly hard to narrow it down, but in the end, there were particular ones that just stood out to me for their own unique reasons ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. congratulations on your 100th post and for your wonderfully kind words. I so appreciate you stopping over and not only reading my work but really enjoying it. there’s no better reward! except ice cream. ๐Ÿ˜‰ thank you so much! and wow! sky diving 7 times??! that’s one of my fears! So brave!!

  3. Aw, thank you so much for the nomination! That’s awesome that you found Helena via her guest post and I love to see my name next to Dawn from W.T.F.
    Obviously Ben helps us out with all our necessary bitterness/the most mesmerizing gifs the interwebs can offer.
    Congrats on the award– and on your 100th post. Damn!

    1. Thanks Aussa. You are more than welcome …. I really enjoy your blog and you have a great way of communicating and drawing the reader in. I’ve found some amazing blogs on my travels so far … And yours is one of them. Its nice to be able to share the appreciation. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

