Dead and Buried

It’s the WordPress Weekly writing challenge and the prompt this week is the Golden Years – ‘what age means to me’, so here’s my post for this week.

As I meandered through the local cemetry on my afternoon stroll (I was looking for a short cut!) I found myself looking around the gravestones for inspiration for this week’s writing challenge. The potential links were taking form in my brain when I stumbled upon the remembrance garden, where the ashes of loved ones were scattered. A sense of deja vu washed over me as it took a moment for the connection to be made – I had been out for a run and got caught short. I found myself sneaking to the back of the park looking for cover to do the deed. In my hurry, I hadn’t noticed at the time, but now I was looking at a tree in the corner and it was looking mighty familiar. I wasn’t quite sure whether to laugh or be disgusted, but I had been pissing on some poor dead persons ashes – what an afterlife!

So, with such a morbid eternity ahead, it got me thinking about the time I have left. We tend to think we are indestructable, but often our vulnerabilities are brought home when loved ones depart, some far too young in years. None of us know when our time will come, so we need to make the most of our time here before it’s too late. One of my OH’s favourite quotes by Hunter S. Thompson is:

 “Life should not be a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty and well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside in a cloud of smoke, thoroughly used up, totally worn out, and loudly proclaiming “Wow! What a Ride!”

Although the OH usually uses it as an excuse to justify something I am frowning upon – I have to contend that they might have a point! Although I don’t believe in living recklessly, I do want to look back at life and feel content that it’s been full of experiences. Life goes through phases, with much of my youth being about trying to fit in. With growing older came more wisdom and confidence – although the years of my youth are dwindling away into the distance I am the most comfortable I have ever been with myself – despite not being the thinnest, wealthiest version of me. Nowadays I appreciate what is more important in life – it’s not about appearances, it’s about having unconditional love and security surrounding me. Who knows what the future brings, but those who say life begins at 30 have a bloody good point. 

When my times up I might reassess my options – I had always thought cremation would be preferable to being buried, but now I’m thinking that perhaps a coffin would provide better waterproofing against desperate runners!

4 thoughts on “Dead and Buried”

  1. What a thoughtful and wonderfully entertaining piece. I love the theme, which made me recall a particular quote, “Why tip-toe through life, to arrive safely at death?” Never have I thought I’d quote a song by Ludacris, but I suppose there’s a first time for everything. I truly enjoy your humorous touch to this story. I’m definitely reconsidering cremation

    1. Ludacris might have a point for once! 😉 thanks – it was quite a fun post to write given the grim undertone! Nice to know there are others who appreciate my black humour! 😉 x

      1. I have to say though, I have a newfound respect for you. I don’t have the balls to run through a cemetery, much less pee in one You’re truly an inspiration!

      2. You did make me chuckle! 😉 in all fairness I had no idea where I was peeing!!! I might have been put off a bit if I had known …. After all I don’t want to upset any ghosts! 😉

Leave a Reply

