A Little Treat

When I headed out this morning for a new pair of work shoes, I warily crept back into the house on my return, waiting for a sigh from the OH when he spotted my ‘other’ purchase! In all honesty though, they were a bargain too good be true. I popped into our local factory outlet store and couldn’t resist a pair of Skechers Shape Ups for less than £30 – it would have been rude to say no. I’ve been eyeing up these bare foot technology shoes since they first came on the market years ago, but have never been able to bring myself to part with the sum of money they were asking for them – I am feeling mighty smug at todays bargain shopping skills.

A few years back the appeal was all about getting toned buttocks, but now I have more fundamental reasons for wanting a pair. My current stream of recent aches and pains is reaching the point where people daren’t ask me how I am, for fear of a long list of whinges escaping my mouth. But my lower back especially is becoming an increasing frustration. It’s been weeks since I last went for a run and I am missing my favourite pastime immensely. Although I am desperate to get back out pounding the streets again, for once I am listening to my body and having some rest time …. but my patience is wearing thin. My new Skechers promise to help with posture, core strength and reduced pressure on joints – sounds like just the recipe I need!

They might be a bit clumpy and unattractive, but nowadays I am past caring – needs must and all that (blasphemous thoughts I would never have dared to think a few years ago). But right now I need comfort, support and any help I can get! 🙂

I will keep you posted once I get to take them out for a spin …..

Leave a Reply

