Little Miracles of Life

It’s time for the WordPress Weekly Writing Challenge and this week is all about the rule of threes. The below three pictures are the prompt for this weeks post.

‘He’s got your pixie ears,’ was the first words the OH said.

As he passed me the little wrapped bundle I looked down to the miniature version of my ears, all complete with the folded flap of skin at the top. How amazing is that. Big blue eyes gazed up at me, peeking out of the wrinkled skin around them. A little human being created by us alone, a proper little miracle.

It’s hardly a new thing, protruding baby bumps have been a common sight amongst women of child-bearing age throughout the ages. A colleague up the duff, a friend expecting – just another run of the mill experience – that is until you have your own.

I’d never been naturally maternal before falling pregnant. I was an only child in a family of much older relatives, with a bunch of friends who were showing no signs of settling down and starting families. Babies were something I would coo at from a safe distance before making my excuses and heading down the pub. I didn’t even know what way to put a nappy on, let alone knowing how to deal with pregnancy and childbirth. So, in typical fashion, when I don’t know something I buy a book, or maybe a few books, and research! And so the learning curve began.

I knew life as I knew it was going to drastically change, but as to the finer details of that change I had no idea what to expect. What I did have though was nine months of pregnancy and baby obsession to contend with, until my own bambino popped out. I don’t know what I expected really, after all having children is the most natural thing in the world, so I was surprised to find out the intricacies of it all. It’s only at this point, that the magic of the whole process really hit me. I mean, did you know that there is only a 20% of getting pregnant every month (those little pesky sperm have to work hard to fertilise that egg!); and at the start of a pregnancy your womb is the size of a conference pear, only to expand to larger than a watermelon by the end of your term; and your heart gets larger when you’re pregnant as it has to work harder; and your feet get bigger and spread out due to the extra weight and the hormone relaxin in the body which relaxes all your muscles; and a womans uterus expands by up to 500 times during her pregnancy; and a fetus acquires fingerprints at the age of three months …. I could go on for a while here! Somehow our bodies just know what to do.

I’m not going to lie, the ordeals of childbirth are beyond comprehendable and I have never experienced pain like it in my life – I don’t think anyone can prepare you for that. But that moment when your healthy baby is passed into your arms for the first time, is a moment I will cherish for the rest of my life. There was no magic ‘off switch’ to forget the pain for me, I still vividly remember the disturbing experience in vivid detail, but it was definitely worth the gift of life at the end. How we made such a beautiful, intelligent and cheeky little boy I will never know. But watching him grow, learn and develop is truly amazing. I’m not sure I’ll be rushinng down the path of number two anytime soon, but the day I had number one was the most miraculous day of my life. I just hope he doesn’t grow up too quickly.

3 thoughts on “Little Miracles of Life”

Leave a Reply

