I Bruise Easily – The Moonshine Grid

As I close the blinds in the kitchen and pull down my pyjama bottoms, I’m sure I see a hopeful glint in Rob’s eyes. Just as quickly the glint is extinguished as he looks down at the state of my legs. ‘Have you seen the size of this bruise?’ I ask. I turn my head and look down at the garish purple monstrosity on the back of my leg. In the middle, a nice gash, which I am now prodding to see if it hurts!

‘It’s a bit sore,’ I determine on closer inspection.

‘It looks it. You really do bruise far to easily,’ Rob responds.

I look down at the rest of my legs. Oh dear, it does look bad. If anyone sees me, they’ll think I’m a battered wife!

I feel frustrated that my ‘get fit’ attempts always seem to be thrown back in my face. These latest badges of honour are proof of my most recent obstacle course race. Who would have guessed that chasing a yeti could be so damaging for my health! I think back to the time I knocked my shin on the coffee table. Ignoring the bruise, I went for a run …. only to be faced with crippling pain and the golf ball sized lump of a hematoma! Cue …. me unable to walk, iced up to the nines and leg elevated for the next week! Then there was when I took up pole dancing. Two classes in, my legs looked like I’d had a serious disagreement with the pole! Cue …. a fond farewell to that hobby!

Rob’s words of wisdom – ‘Stop trying to be something you’re not. I’m not being nasty, but your body obviously just wasn’t made for being fit.’ Well, what was it made for exactly? Being fat and knackered? Destined to be a couch potato, dying a horrible death drowning in a bowl of popcorn?

I find myself reflecting on his unhelpful comment. Maybe I do struggle with my weight! Maybe I’m not overly fit! But what defines my capabilities? Should I give up at the first hurdle? What would the face of elite running look like today if Paula Radcliffe and Mo Farah had thrown in the towel every time they had an ache or pain.

Others may struggle with my ‘lack of fitting’ into my predefined societal box, but surely that is their issue? I know I’m overweight. I know I’m slow. I know I bruise easily! So, do I just say, ‘sod it, pass me the chocolate!’ and prove them all right? I’m not trying to be something I’m not. I’m just trying to make a few healthy improvements!

I might be 5 stone overweight – yet I wade through freezing lakes, climb over 20 foot cargo nets, run half marathons and chase yeti’s in the height of winter …. I am not a stereotype! I am ME! 🙂

In the words of the 19th century Danish philosopher and theologian, Søren Kierkegaard: “Once you label me you negate me.”

I humph off, my feet stomping up the stairs as I go.

‘What are you doing?’ Rob calls.

‘Getting ready to go for a run.’

I just hope this time it doesn’t bring on a hematoma!

Bring it on!
Bring it on!
My badges of honour!
My badges of honour!

This post has been edited in line with recommendations from the Yeah Write weekly challenge team for submission to this weekend’s Moonshine Grid.

18 thoughts on “I Bruise Easily – The Moonshine Grid”

  1. Thanks for resubmitting! I relate to this a lot. The second I start getting back in shape, I get sick. It’s a frustrating two-steps-forward, three-steps-back process. But, like you, I don’t fit in a box; I’m me.

  2. It’s a good job you don’t listen to Rob 😉 you enjoy all the running, mud and obstacles far too much to let a few bruises put you off… and this year you are going to achieve so many personal goals which will make you feel amazing. And (on a selfish note) I need my comrade!!! Keep up the good work Xxx

  3. It’s great you’re pursuing adventure, and I admire your spirit to keep persevering. And there’s always walking if you start to want something that’s lower impact, but still exercise 🙂

    1. Hi Penny,
      Thanks for the really sweet comment. That’s really perked me up, as am feeling very frustrated today about all my aches and pains and lack of ability to run! 😦
      Loving your blog too.
      x

      1. It will pick up, we all have our ups and downs but as long as the general trend is going up you’ll be fine 🙂 I know you do lots of pilates, but have you tried any yoga? I find it fantastic for helping to keep me relatively injury free (more so than Pilates). x

      2. I have only just started Pilates on the advice of the sports therapist. I only dabble in a bit of yoga here and there. But I think it might help me with my tight muscles. Its just finding time to fit it all in! 😉 x

      3. Would be good wouldn’t it?! Oh dear you haven’t seen my latest post then? Had to take the difficult decision to pull out of reading! Am consoling myself with chocolate and perhaps a bottle of wine … Not a happy bunny! 😦 best of luck on Sunday am gutted to be missing out but would love to hear all about how you get on. X

      4. Oh – just seen your post, that’s a shame! But you should listen to your body and get fully back on form. I’m going to start going to the Thames park park run in a few weeks time so maybe when you’re back up and running I’ll see you there?
        Get well soon, 🙂 xx

      5. Good luck with the park run. Keep thinking I might give one a go at some point. That would have been my stomping ground a few years ago, but nowadays I live in Cambridgeshire. Might be a bit of a trek for a Saturday run! 😉 x

Leave a Reply

