Day 4: Weekly training schedule

It’s day 4 of the Fitness Blogger 30-day Writing Challenge. Today the question is:

‘Describe your typical training schedule for a week’

images6NOSXJNTWell, a few weeks ago this would have been an easy one, but recently everything has been a bit up in the air (ooh that reminds me of a great ’30 Seconds to Mars’ song – excuse me whilst I have a swoon over Jared Leto!). Sorry, I’ll get back on track! I got back into running about a year ago, having stopped pretty much all forms of exercise for the previous couple of years, whilst being pregnant and having my little one. As running is what it’s all about to me, that was my main focus. I have Reading half marathon planned in a couple of weeks time, so my training schedule consisted of about 4 runs per week (3 shorter ones (5-7 km) and one longer run on a Sunday) – with a bit of strength training thrown in here and there to help with my obstacle course races! 🙂

Unfortunately, for the last couple of months I have been suffering with some muscle injuries, which have resulted in me reluctantly cutting my mileage back. After finally giving up on ‘running through’ the pain, I relented and visited the sports therapist. The bottom line …. my training schedule has undergone a complete overhaul, with the focus shifting to reduced mileage and core strength. I am in the process of settling into a new routine, but essentially I am aiming for it to look something like this:

  • Monday: Pilates (20-30 mins), 10 mins stretching, 20 mins strengthening exercises (I prefer body-weight exercises rather than weights/dumbbells)
  • Tuesday: Pilates (1 hour class), 10 mins stretching
  • Wednesday: 3km treadmill/road run, Pilates (20-30 mins), 15 mins stretching
  • Thursday: Pilates (1 hour class), 10 mins stretching
  • Friday: 3km treadmill/road run, Pilates (20-30 mins), 15 mins stretching
  • Saturday: Pilates (20-30 mins), 10 mins stretching, 20 mins strengthening exercises (I prefer body-weight exercises rather than weights/dumbbells)
  • Sunday: 5 km road run, 15 mins stretching

The plan is to have a super-strong core within a few months, allowing me to start upping my distance again and getting back to, pain-free, what I love – Running!

Leave a Reply

