Day 1: Pre and post workout routine

So it’s day 1 of the fitness blogging 30 day writing challenge.

The question for today is:

‘Describe your pre and post warm up/cool down routine’

thDIVSJ994Generally, most of my cardio work is running, so my warm-up, cool-down and stretching exercises are mainly aimed at my legs! I have to admit that historically I have been terrible at stretching and warming up properly. It has only been in recent months that I have started to take things more seriously! And even more recently I have had to notch the stretching up a gear further, due to lots of muscle aches and pains in my hip and back. So currently, the routine looks something like this:

Pre run

I do a series of dynamic stretches, aiming at the hamstrings, glutes, hips, quadriceps and calves. I usually spend about 5 minutes in total doing these. I actually found a great stretching routine in an edition of RunnersWorld and this is what I tend to follow now – here’s another great routine. I then warm up for a few minutes with some walking and very slow running, before launching into my actual running pace.

Post run

I am dreadful at cooling down properly, and usually just spend a couple of minutes walking at the end of my run. I got a good telling off recently from my sports massage therapist, so I am now religiously spending at least 10 minutes post run, stretching out all my main leg muscle groups for 5 reps of 10 secs for each stretch. My stretches include:

  • quadriceps stretch
  • hamstring stretch
  • hip flexor stretch
  • adductor stretch
  • gluteals stretch (the buttock muscles)
  • gastrocnemius stretch (one of the two main calf muscles – top bit)
  • soleus stretch (the other main calf muscle – bottom bit)

Then I usually raid the fridge and go and collapse on the sofa!!!! 🙂

If you would like to see what the writing challenges are for the other days, then check out the fitness blogger 30 day writing challenge post.

One thought on “Day 1: Pre and post workout routine”

Leave a Reply

