The 5:2 Fasting Diet …. bring it on!

5:2 dietWell, as many of you know I am a woman on a mission – trying to lose about a third of my total body weight! I will be a skinny minny yet, I tell you!!!! 🙂 Having methodically followed the Weightwatchers diet since the beginning of January, I have managed to lose 11 lbs in weight so far. I am really happy with this, but my problem has always been ‘staying on the wagon’ so to speak – and the last two weeks I have well and truly fallen off of it!!!!! After a period of illness, friends visiting, birthday celebrations (my 3-year-olds), too much naughty food and not enough exercise the scales were starting to tell the tale! My other problem is fickleness (god knows how I have managed to stay with the OH for 13 years!!!!! :)). In need of a new burst of motivation, I decided it was time to try a change of diet plan. Which leads me onto the 5:2 fasting diet.

I’m sure lots of you have heard about it already – in fact I think I am a bit behind with the times on this one! But the basis is you fast for two non-consecutive days of the week and then eat what you want for the other five. I have been reading a lot of good reviews about this diet from various people and when my friend lost 3 lb after her first day of fasting, I was starting to think I might be missing out on something! So, I have jumped on the band wagon!

I quite liked the sound of this diet as I find maintaining a diet for a long period of time very hard. And when I get waylaid it knocks my motivation for six. The fact that I only have to effectively ‘diet’ for two days of the week, should theoretically be easier for me to stick to. The premise behind intermittent fasting is that it mimics our pre-historic ancestors eating habits, i.e. feast and famine. Modern habits have apparently made our metabolisms sluggish and this diet is meant to kick-start things back into action!

I invested in the book by Dr Michael Mosley and Mimi Spencer, which claims to be the ‘original 5:2 diet’. After a full-on reading session Wednesday night, I was all set for my first fasting day on Thursday. The good news is that fasting doesn’t mean ‘no food at all’, just that you can’t consume more than 500 calories (600 for men)! I was sceptical to say the least, knowing how much I love my food! So after a smoothie for breakfast, it was a long old wait til my next feed at dinner (salmon, tender-stem broccoli and a poached egg)! It was hard. I was starving … and I drank so much green tea to try to stave off my hunger it was ridiculous. But I did it, without eating my arm, and the following morning I was 4 lb lighter!!!!! I have since put on a pound or two, but it is already making me think more about what I am eating. I am also more aware of real hunger versus eating for the sake of it. The sadistic side of me is actually even quite looking forward to my next fasting day on Monday. After all I do like a challenge! Though I am hoping it will be easier the second time round. And the best thing, my equally obsessed friend is also doing it too, so we are able to compare weight loss and/or gain at least twice a day!!!! 🙂

I’m looking forward to posting on here again soon with lots more news of my ever decreasing weight!!!!!!! Fingers crossed! 🙂

One thought on “The 5:2 Fasting Diet …. bring it on!”

Leave a Reply

