Diets – Am I destined to fail?

dieting

It’s been a relatively chilled weekend. Apart from a kid’s birthday party and a couple of good runs, I have had a nice relaxing weekend. Well, as relaxing as it gets with a crazy 3-year-old running around the house! I actually stumbled upon some half-read running magazines I had forgotten about, so I snuggled myself up on the sofa with a nice cuppa and stuck my head in them for a good part of the weekend!

During my marathon (not the running sort!) reading session I stumbled upon an article about a subject close to my heart – trying to lose weight. Something I have struggled with most of my life and has now been exacerbated by having a baby! The article, courtesy of ‘Running Fitness‘, has now made me feel super motivated! ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you know that nearly half of diets fail within the first 24 hours? 1 in 20 women have NEVER been on a diet which lasted into the second day? And, the average woman goes on 3 diets per year, but in reality the diet is abandoned within 11 days on average? Not great statistics for those of us trying to lose weight in the New Year! :-0

Well, I’ve been going for 26 days now … so, in light of this research, I am performing well above average! ๐Ÿ™‚ Worked out on my initial goal of wanting to lose 5 1/2 stone – minus the amount I have lost to date (10 lbs) – I now have 4 stone 9 lbs left to lighten myself of! Based on an optimistic estimate of 2 lb a week weight loss, I should be down to target weight in …. well, 32.5 weeks time (or approximately 8 months)! I won’t even begin to get into the statistical mathematics of the likelihood of sticking to a diet for that long! ๐Ÿ™‚ What I do know is that: a) I have never had so much weight to lose before; b) I can’t even comprehend sticking to a diet for that long; and c) I have never felt so motivated to lose weight and get in shape. Which adds up to = I am going to get there, but I’m taking it one ‘manageable’ day at a time!

Weight loss and dieting has been a big part of my life throughout the years. I struggled with my weight as a child, managed toThe word diet spelt out in vegetables on a wooden board. stay relatively steady throughout my 20s (with a bit of fluctuation!) and then got pregnant and ate everything in sight for 9 months! The moral of that story – 3 years later I am still paying the price! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ Years of obsessing about weight has meant I have been through most diets over the years. I have lost count of the number of times I’ve joined Weightwatchers and I can safely tick off the ‘been there’ box for Slimming World, the Atkins diet and the GI diet, among others. On occasion I have done quite well – losing the odd stone here and there. But 5 1/2 stone is a mammoth challenge! I have tried a few times to commit to a diet since giving birth, but inevitably have fallen off the wagon, often within days (if not hours!). I was the statistical norm for a while! So what’s so different this time?

Well, whilst killing some time on Facebook, I came across a great piece of advice about successful weight loss. So, what did it boil down to in the end? Diet pills? Fad diets? Healthy eating? Exercise? Starving yourself???? Nope – the correct answer is – POSITIVE THINKING! Apparently being in a negative state of mind is the biggest no, no for starting a diet. We need to learn to love ourselves before trying to lose weight – as losing weight to ‘earn’ or ‘deserve’ love is likely to set us up for a big fall. A few years ago I would’ve probably scoffed at this idea, but now I have a different point of view. I can completely relate to this. Over the last few years I have been the biggest I have ever been, and I have struggled to come to terms with it. Going from a size 10 (at my lightest) up to a size 22 (UK sizes) – I’d be lying if I said it hadn’t knocked my self-confidence. I have spent many a day feeling fat, sluggish and unattractive. I have been diagnosed with asthma – which I’m sure is exacerbated by my extra weight! Last time I worked out my BMI it came out as ‘obese’ – how depressing is that?! ๐Ÿ˜ฆ A roller-coaster of emotions later, I now feel more comfortable in my own skin (I do naturally still have the odd off day here and there though!). Yes, I want to lose weight – but I love myself and I know I have family and friends who love me too! Losing weight isn’t about outside acceptance any more, it’s about improving my running and fitness, improving my health, and looking better for ME!

I am in the best place for starting my weight-loss journey – so why shouldn’t I beat the odds and get to my goal weight! ๐Ÿ™‚

Wish me luck!

x

11 thoughts on “Diets – Am I destined to fail?”

    1. Hi. Thank you for the nomination, its lovely to know people enjoy reading my blog. I will be checking out the rules and posting later. Thanks again. Great blog you’ve got by the way. X

  1. This topic resonates with many women all over the world, especially mommies! Giving birth to a baby is no easy task, and it is a wonder that our bodies can go through all of that to create another person. And we actually SURVIVE to tell about it. But what about afterwards? Media tells us to be stick thin and that we should bounce back within a week after delivery.

    Embrace your new curves, so what if your hips are a little wider or you have stretchmarks. They are battle wounds, be proud of them! They are proof that you are a mommy, and you sound like an excellent one at that. The moment I stopped obsessing about what other people think, my weight, what I looked like, whether or not my clothes fit (and I will tell you, most of them certainly did not), I was able to focus on what really mattered. The rest will fall into place. Keep it up!

    Health and fitness are key components to my life. Keep following my blog, I’ll be sure to add in some resources you’ll like.

    Check out http://www.blogilates.com/. I did pilates up until I was 8 months pregnant, and I swear by it!

    -R

Leave a Reply

