Literary diversity ….

Well, challenge 21 is underway!!!!! Challenge 21? Ask 20 friends for a book recommendation each and read them all!

Book 1 of Challenge 21!!!
Book 1 of Challenge 21!!!

As it was my first day commuting to work in London for the first time in 3 years, what a perfect excuse to pick up a new book and while away my commute! So, thanks to Janine (who recommended and lent me the book) I am whizzing my way through ‘Call the Midwife’ by Jennifer Worth. And so far, I am pleasantly surprised. I have been glued to it for the whole return journey to and from work and am nearly half way through already! I’m not going to let the cat out of the bag yet, as I intend to post my ‘expert’ review on here when I finish the book! So you will have to live with the suspense in the meantime!!!! 🙂

I actually picked this goal after running out of ideas and seeing a suggestion on a random website somewhere! But, after getting a few suggestions and starting on my first read, I am starting to think that this is going to be quite an eye-opening challenge! I enjoy reading, when I get the chance to read, but I do tend to cling to the same sort of thrillers (and if there is a vampire or werewolf in sight, them I’m sold!) – so I’m not always very adventurous with my literary choices! This challenge is already taking me out of my usual comfort zone and I can see me getting to read some really strange and wonderful books – and I’m looking forward to it!!!

So far I have the following suggestions from friends:

1. Call the Midwife – Jennifer Worth (Janine’s suggestion)

2. Dracula – Bram Stoker (Sarah)

3. You Only Live Twice – Ian Fleming (Jame’s Bond fan Howie!)

4. Born to Run – Christopher McDougall (Kate – and to think I was relying on you for a good bit of Vamp Lit!!!!!)

5. The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zoet – David Mitchell (which I fear is going to be far too cultured for me – thanks Adrian!!!)

6. Task Force Helmand – Doug Beattie MC (Rob)

So 6 down, 14 to go …… I am on the lookout for those of you who have a good read to suggest. Next 14 suggestions make it onto the list! 🙂 I will be writing a little bit of my thoughts on each as I read them … so watch this space! I tell you what … as I’ve had a glass of wine and I’m feeling care free – the book I like best will get a box of choccies (the friend not the book obviously!!!!).

Anyway, all this commuting, means it’s time for a glass (or bottle!) of vino plonko! So I’m off … slurp, slurp! 🙂

Oh, don’t forget it’s weigh in day on Saturday, so lets see how much of the vino has gone to the hips then! 🙂

Ciao for now.

xxx

Leave a Reply

